top of page
  • annalapostolopoulo

Short Film Progress Check #7

This week our team had just come off of a break and decided to start production on assets and proof of concepts. We were doing experimentation with environments, textures, mechanisms, and characters while also starting to plan out whose doing what asset. After our last production pass, we did minor adjustments on our storyboard and decided on what we needed to expand on with environments and art development.

Once we organized and split up everything, we moved forward with what we were doing. We worked on partial rigging and texturing as well as starting to model and plan the base mesh for our characters.

On the topic of base meshes, I worked on the alien base mesh to prep for sculpting and finished it half way before checking with my group.

I struggles quite a bit with adopting techniques of modeling a human base mesh to the proportions of the alien from our concept and was happy that the flow worked generally. Although, it ended up looking like a turkey in silhouette so I asked my group for their opinions and advice.

Once I checked with my group, we decided on changing the width of the hips, making them thinner, and change the front and back, adding more depth. I also got a suggestion of curving and changing the legs like a kangaroo or a deer, lifting the knees up closer to the body. The general body shape into a triangle instead of a flat bottom.

After I make the changes, I'll finish up with adding the head, hands, and maybe feet. I'll be planning on finished the mesh by next week to start the sculpting process.

As a group, we'll continue with making meshes for sculpting and assets for modeling while still experimenting with textures and environments. We'll also be adding sound and changing up our animatic. With edits and suggestions, we're progressing pretty smoothly and constructively as a group.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page