top of page
  • annalapostolopoulo

Short Film Progress Check #6

Nearing our next Production Progress Presentation, my group and I are finalizing our storyboard and moving forward with white boxing and innerworkings. For our short, we plan on moving ahead from our conceptual phase and into the setup and prototypes. Additional to white boxing and general environment planning, several of us are also testing out mechanisms for some of our important assets and textures.

After helping with the storyboard additions, I helped plan some of the sizing conventions for the door in contrast to our characters height, in order to have universal scaling and unification with our environments. I also used this as an opportunity to experiment with the functioning of the door. We wanted the doors to rotate open with three separate parts. Since I wasn't sure how to go about this, I drew inspiration from a camera aperture and shutter. After watching a few videos and tutorials, I was able to make a temporary mock up and prototype that will help moving forward with the development of this part of asset. This is the test and first iteration, but I think it'll be very helpful in later versions and future development.

I will definitely have to play with the scale and the blades more, but as a first attempt this will be a good building off point and will help with future attempts.

As for next week, we'll all be getting ready for our production pass and we'll be starting on bases for characters to place in scenes. With this in mind, we'll start to convert our storyboard from 2d images to white boxing and basic layout animations.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page