top of page
  • annalapostolopoulo

Short Film Progress Check #4

Since my last post, my group and I have had a formal progress check where we put all of our progress together. We showcased our updated storyboard, art direction, and character art that we had.

As referenced in my precious posts, I've been working on the alien. I made a formal character sheet for the alien, checking with my group incrementally. I used what my group and classmates said and made adjustments accordingly, adding reference to the human in both height and stature. I made a front, three quarters, and side view to help for sculpting and modeling.

Once that was complete and we got our feedback from our teachers, who were critiquing our work, we decided to move forward with some of our assets while recessing our character sheets and some of the story board shots.

We had a meeting to figure out more cohesion and revamp our assets while also figuring out what to do for our characters. We completed some blueprints and designs for assets we plan to move forward with, while also using some suggestions from our peers.

I was in charge of testing our additional character designs using Midjourny, an ai program that was recommended by classmates outside of our group. I tested the program out to see possible look development for our characters in 3D to give us ideas for future incorporations and detailing work we could use when sculpting and modeling the characters.


Although we aren't planning on using any of these ai generated images distinctly or directly for our characters, it gave us a lot of inspiration for details and translating our characters to 3D, something we were critiqued on.

We did have some problems and arguments for our style guides when it came to visuals and functionality vs story and comedy, but we managed to work it out and put a pin in it until we get to modeling and seeing what works and looks good vs what's too much or doesn't look right in the scene.

For next week, my group and I are planning on officially starting development, white boxing some of our environments and developing some smaller assets. We will be meeting to divvy up tasks more specifically early in the week. I also thought of ideas for our storyboard, in which I am in charge of creating and adding to see how it works in the flow and run time.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page