top of page
  • annalapostolopoulo

Short Film Progress Check 3

Continuing with the previous posts on the short film capstone project, our group added details and fixed up our concept arts. Since we had difficulties figuring out the characters, both the human and alien, we met to figure out the personalities of both. In figuring out the personality and story of the characters, we were able to make a style fitting of them. The main character, who we decided on naming Jerimiah, ended up being a truck driver who was tired after a long shift and needed to stop at a gas station to go to the bathroom. That means the addition of a truck and more casual clothing, a cardigan/sweatshirt with jeans, vest, hat, timberlands, and watch. The aliens we had a bit of trouble with. We wanted them to be comedic, but not be stupid or bumbling. We ended up going with smaller aliens that were capturing the last human on their list, both rushing and more sloppy but experienced. This fit into their design of short, stout, but professionally dressed. We also ended up figuring out layout and architecture of the human bathroom, that we switched to being part of a gas station to make more sense to the plot. We figured out that Jerimiah will be 5'10'' while the aliens will be around 48'' - 50'' tall.

Since I was majorly in charge of the aliens, I helped contribute a lot to their personality and relating that back to their aesthetic. My teacher had given me some advice to draw the aliens with basic shaped bodies, so I experimented with them.

We originally wanted the more spherical one, but I ended up drawing one with clothes and a more diamond shape lower body and a circular tummy. This was more to showcase colors and style of body.

When I presented to the group, they liked the colors, sash, hands, and feet. I decided to give the aliens three fingers and toes because we make the alien ship have more of a triangular motif that incorporated a lot of domes and circular shapes. They also likes the fact that I made the horn detail on the top go all the way back to the neck and the sash around the shoulder instead of the stomach or somewhere else. They did, however, think that the outfit and body we're what we should go for. They wanted me to change the color as well as lower the shoulders and bring them closer to the body. That's when I referred back to my basic shapes and decided to make the shoulder and neck and thin triangle and the body more of a pear or upside down light bulb.

Since I messed up the perspective and three quarter view style, I'm going to redo the drawing with the changed body and shade the clothes as well as adding more detail. I will also do my best to add a side view and complete a character sheet for us to reference when creating the character. More on that in the next blog post.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page