top of page
  • annalapostolopoulo

Short Film Production Progress Check #2

This week, the Bathroom Stall Galactica team working on transforming our progress and decisions from our mood boards and art direction boards into concept art. We focused on layout, character design, and object design. Since we were very open with communication and met several times before the check-in day, we were able to come to a lot of compromises and agreements for design aspects. However, there were differing opinions in colors and clothes when it came to the human character and designing the interior ship that created come arguments and complications that we still need to fix. Going forward we'll need to define the characters more in personality and style to figure out how the characters would look, dress, and move.

This came into play majorly when it came to what I was doing this week. I was in charge of figuring out the alien design, including body and clothing. This wasn't a place my group particularly found challenging to agree on, when talking to our professor we found that we may need to redesign the character after identifying personality and style.

In my last post, I mentioned I was going to experiment with the shape and body type of the alien, which on my first run through I did.

I noticed on our art directions board, we had settled on a design for the face and wanted bent knees. I originally focused on the upside down light bulb shape of the body, strangely bent knees, and already decided head and face.

However, while looking at my designs, I realized they didn't seem right or fitting to what we had talked about in our previous planning meetings. I decided, after looking at even more research, to keep the prime elements and experiment with shape, limbs, and size. This resulted in our group settling on more of a tubby and baby like look rather than what I had originally believed we would decide or focus on.

After taking what our group had decided on, I experimented with clothes and more detail, talking through it with my team so we didn't loose the shape of the body but kept a similar theme we had agreed on for a style of clothing.

However, this changed when I talked to my teacher and I realized that maybe we should take time to come up with our character's general personality and attitude before deciding on shape, color, and clothing. So there will be more pending designs for body, clothes, and personality for my next blog post.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page