top of page
  • annalapostolopoulo

Short Film Production Progress Check #1

As mentioned in my previous Capstone Progress Checks, we have been organized into groups and my group is working on the short film Bathroom Stall Galactica.

Our group had prepared storyboards and art inspiration, but after our first official production meeting, had decided to define our art direction so that all of our members were on the same page and we had a proper plan before we started producing assets.

We had two meetings outside of the required class schedule and each presented mood boards and art directions in the form of photoshop documents and images as well as Pinterest boards.

For the first meeting, I prepared my board in photoshop and focused on the settings and architecture. I drew inspiration from previous discussions on layout and color scheme, as well as my own reference when creating a mock storyboard in Maya.

For the second meeting, I prepared a Pinterest board that was centered around possible designs for characters, both the alien and human, and some of the objects.

Once we got to the officially scheduled meeting on the day of posting this, our group used our finalized ideas into one art direction board.

We confirmed our ideas and asked for opinions from our professors and decided on our next course of action: developing official concept art for characters, layout, and adding more detail to storyboards. We had some minor disagreements and confusions on certain parts of the story, so we decided to revamp our storyboards as well to test out the pacing and if certain scenes fit or add to the story as a whole. My job is to create concept art for that Aliens and I began the sketches today.

It's been a challenge to figure out the aliens body proportions and limb style, so I'll be sketching out variations based on our finalized reference and meet with my group to see what they think of the options. More on that in the next blog.






6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page